King of My Heart

Let the King of my heart

be the mountain where I run

The Fountain I drink from

Oh He is my Song

Let the King of my heart

be the shadow where I hide

the randsom for my life

Oh He is my Song

These lyrics are from a song I have simply come to love.  We sang this song at a worship night and God used it to speak straight to my heart.

Earlier that day I was wrestling with my thoughts yet again.  It is just so hard to be “home” after making my home in foreign places during the last nine months of my life.

My time away encouraged and highlighted these passions I have deep in my heart.  The most obvious of passions being India and women rescued from sexual exploitation.

Now that I am home I find these passions fading away, or so I thought.  And is exactly what I thought just before I walked into worship.  Fear and doubt knocked on the door of my heart as I wondered how these passions could possibly be fading away from my heart when I was certain God was the one who had put them there.

Then we sang the song above and in an instant God asked me the following:

What is the king of your heart, Diane?

When I thought about my answer everything became clear to me.

These passions of mine aren’t fading away they are just falling into place.  It is not the easiest process to watch passions of yours fall away from places of your heart they are just not meant to be.  But it is oh so necessary because of the following:

I am not to love what God has called me to more than I love Him.

I am not to focus my attention on the things I do for the Lord more than I focus on Him.

I am not to do for God more than simply being His.

I am not to get caught up in the needs all around me more than I get caught up in sitting still in God’s presence.

With passions as the “king of our heart” we cannot rely on them, depend on them, trust in them for anything.  Only when God is the King of our heart can we rely fully, depend completely, and trust wholeheartedly in Him to keep these passions and fulfill them in His time in His way.

When these passions of mine fall I trust they are landing in the places they need to be.  The places where God wants them to be for Him to grow them deeper and use them best for the purposes He has planned since before I was even born.

And as the song continues to play, my heart fills with thankfulness to God for protecting the throne of my heart to be only His.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “King of My Heart

  1. Ahhh, Diane! I love hearing how my friends grow in their relationship with Abba Daddy! This is so true!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

