Finding Your Heartbeat

The view from my current seat is so lovely.  I would take a picture and show you it is just that the camera really does not do this moment justice.  It is not possible to capture this beauty in a photo.  I am sitting in our living room staring out one of the four great windows with sheer curtains allowing just the right amount of sunlight into the room.  Outside there are cars and bikes and people passing by as I sit still reflecting on all God has done, is doing, and will do in this current season of my life.

There has been joy.  There has been tears.  There has been sadness.  There has been excitement.  And yet through it all there has been One Constant leading me through it all; God Himself.

He gently puts His hand in mine and asks me to trust the adventure with Him.  I do not know what these next six months have in store for me and all of those around me, but God does!  He has been preparing us for this moment.  He has done the work to get us here, He is continuing the work, and all we have to do is trust.

I really want to share something that stuck out in our class this week.  The lectures have been extensive, compelling, informative, and yet so enjoyable!  This week the speaker spoke something that really resonated in my heart, “Know how to align your heart with God’s.  Let your heartbeat be His.”

God’s name represents Power, Majesty, Love.  Why wouldn’t we want our hearts to beat right alongside His?

Truth is, to align our hearts with God’s we must allow our heart to be broken by the very things that break His heart.  It is true this Amazing, Beautiful, Majestic, All Powerful God has a heart that is breaking.  (Genesis 6:6)

Dare to pray a bold prayer that God will hear and will answer.

God, break my heart for what breaks yours.

Don’t let this prayer be empty words.  Speak this prayer from your heart to His.

God breaks our hearts perfectly.  He breaks our hearts to use us to bring His healing and restoration to the hearts out there that have been broken by the wrong hands.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.  Psalm 34:18

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.  Psalm 40:2

Having his heartbeat will lead us to places we never thought we would go.

I never thought I would be in Amsterdam attending a counseling school in order to gain the proper training to bring God’s restoration to the young girls and women trapped in the horrors of trafficking.  When I think about how I got here, I simply have to smile.

Little did I know when I begged God to give me His desires for my heart that I was asking Him to bring me here.  I am constantly asking God to help my heart to feel only what He wants my heart to feel.  His desires have become my desires.

I remember the day I prayed and asked God to break my heart for what breaks His.  I could have never known the impact this prayer would have on my life.  Slowly God started showing me what His heart was breaking for.  God broke my heart with the piece of His that breaks for the young girls and women suffering through the injustice of sex-trafficking.

My heartbeat is God’s and it beats for the girls waiting to be rescued by God into a life of hope and freedom.  What is yours?

6 thoughts on “Finding Your Heartbeat

  1. Love that song, break my heart for what breaks yours! And the song I did, I sent you! Love you and praying each day that God will direct your steps and keep your heart willing to follow Him. Miss you and wish you were here sharing the afternoon with me.

  2. tHIS WAS SO GREAT TO HEAR.I am encouraged to hear all that God is doing in and around you. He has great things in store for you.

Leave a Reply

