Weakness: Strength in Disguise

I cannot believe in exactly one week I will be starting my first day of school in Amsterdam!  I have to say I am completely overwhelmed by the outpouring of love, prayers, support, and encouragement I have received from so many.  It brings me to tears and the only response I have is the most thankful heart you can ever imagine!

I want to share with you what God has been showing and teaching me over and over again as I prepare for this new adventure with Him.  You can read all about this new adventure here.

2 Corinthians 12:9 says, But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

This verse has been invading my life at the most convenient times for the past couple of months.  Each time, God has been helping me understand this verse and my weaknesses in a new way.

In the past couple of months, I have been stretched to do things that I felt were impossible for me.  I was finding myself out of my comfort zone with weakness surrounding me.  I did not and still do not know the outcomes of major changes God is bringing to my life.  All of this made me focus on just how weak I am.

One evening as I sat on my bed praying to God for help dreading the next big thing I had to do the next day, I truly had an “ah-ha” moment.  If I were not weak in this area I would not be seeking God for His strength and power.  I would simply be trying to do it all in my own strength and power.  By the end of my prayer for help, my heart was smiling so big knowing God helped me to understand that being weak is one of the best things we can be!  Weakness brings us to the place of God’s power.  His power working in and through our weaknesses is stronger than any strength we can muster up on our own.

I need His strength.  I need His power.  And the only way I can experience this is allowing myself to just be weak.  For when I am weak then I am strong.  (2 Cor. 12:10)

Who among you fears the LORD and obeys the word of his servant? Let the one who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the LORD and rely on their God.  Isaiah 50:10

Father, You know my weaknesses and You know what Your power can and will do through my every weakness.  Please give me the courage to give You my weaknesses and allow You to be my strength.  In Your name I pray, Amen.

One thought on “Weakness: Strength in Disguise

  1. You wrote that it was only a week away! Now you are there and ready for class! You are weak, but you love the strong, powerful, compassionate and kind Father! I will be praying tomorrow for a great first day of class for you…inspiring, challenging, the best!!!!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

